Baby Loss Awareness πŸ’™πŸ’—

It is Baby Loss Awareness month in October so I will be sharing more than usual over the next few weeks!

Baby Loss Awareness week starts on Friday 9th Oct and ends with the Wave of Light on Thursday 15th.

The theme for BLAW 2020 is Overcoming Isolation. babyloss-awareness.org

Twins Trust are a member of the Baby Loss Alliance.

“This year we are highlighting the isolation many people experience after pregnancy and baby loss – women, partners, other family members and friends.

The effect of social distancing from Covid-19 has had a major impact on access to care and support and has complicated grief and responses to pregnancy and baby loss.

Since the start of the coronavirus pandemic, feelings of isolation have become more widespread around the world and many people have begun to talk more openly about loneliness.

Now more than ever, we can all come together to let those affected by pregnancy and baby loss know they are not alone and that we are all here to support them.

So, this year, we invite everyone to come together, share their experiences and show their support for those who have experienced the loss of a baby – whether or not they have been directly affected themselves.”

babyloss-awareness.org

I look forward to sharing some of my thoughts and of others in the coming days raising awareness and breaking the silence.

There are lots of ways to join in: turning pink and blue, lighting a candle, sharing experiences, changing your profile picture etc.

Please share any photos or ways that you take part with me if you would like to.

Author: sharondarke

I have 4 children, my twins Charlie and Joshua who lived for a few weeks and Jessica and Samuel. I am a teacher and I also coordinate the Tamba bereavement group. I am 43 and and married to Dominic. I love swimming and running. Type 1 diabetes also plays a big part in our lives as Samuel and Dominic are both type 1.

Leave a comment